Governing Body

The Governing board consists of the following members.

Late Venerable Dr Acharya Buddharakkhita - Founder-President

Venerable Acharya Buddharakkhita, founder-President of Maha Bodhi Society, Bangalore was born on March 12, 1922, on full moon day, in Imphal, Manipur state of India. Having completed his engineering and having served in the Indian British Army, after the Second World War, he felt the call of spiritual life. He renounced household life and wandered all over India in search of truth. Ultimately he took ordination under Most Venerable Chandamani Mahathera of Kushinagar and studied Buddhism in Sri Lanka and Burma for 6 years. He was editor in the Sixth Buddhist Synod held in Rangoon, Burma. In 1956 he came to Bangalore and established Maha Bodhi Society and its sister organizations. He passed away on September 23, 2013 leaving a great legacy of Dhamma for all his monastic and lay followers.

Venerable Kassapa Thera - President

Venerable Kassapa Thera, president of the Mahabodhi organizations is one of the most active monks of the Maha Bodhi Society. Deeply devoted, the venerable faithfully performs every day morning and evening chanting and meditation and creates a peaceful atmosphere wherever he is. With rich experience in management he is guiding all the monks of the Mahabodhi. Humorous in nature, the venerable teaches the profound Dhamma in simple ways.

Venerable Bhikkhu Ananda - General Secretary

Born in North Karnataka in 1967 Venerable Ananda took ordination as Buddhist monk under the most Venerable Acharya Buddharakkhita in 1986. He is one of the main teachers at the Mahabodhi Monastic Institute and conducts Sutta, Pali and Abhidhamma classes. He also conducts meditation retreats in India and abroad. At present he is monitoring the various activities of the Mahabodhi organizations.


Committee of Management

No Name Designation
1 Late Ven. Dr. Acharya Buddharakkhita

A Great Pali and Buddhist Scholar, author of over 100 books, triple doctorates, and visionary monk founded the Mahabodhi institutions and university.
Founder President
2 Ven. Kassapa Thera

Experienced Vinaya teacher, initiated new branches of Mahabodhi, Dynamic leader
3 Ven. Bhikkhu Ananda

Secretary of Mahabodhi since 1987, has been teaching Buddhism and meditation. Teacher of Pali, Sutta and Abhidhamma at Mahabodhi Monastic Institute.
General Secretary
4 Ven. Bhikkhu Panyarakkhita

Director of Mahabodhi Tawang Center Chairman of Mahabodhi Maitri Mandala, AP Teacher of Pali, started hostels for old people, poor children and travels internationally teaching Buddhism
5 Ven. Bhikkhu Sangharakkhita

Teacher of Suttas, Manages schools and hostels for several years.
6 Ven. Bhikkhu Dhammaloka

Director of Mahabodhi Mysore Center Teacher of Suttas and is in-charge of Mysore branch.
7 Ven. Bhikkhu Panyaloka

Director of Mahabodhi Lord Buddha College, Namsai Teacher of Vinaya and Suttas. In-charge of Mahabodhi Namsai branch. Head of hostels and community development program
8 Ven. Bhikkhu Dhammacitta

In charge of Publication Division Teacher of Pali and Suttas
9 Ven. Bhikkhu Buddhadatta

Director of Mahabodhi Dhammaduta Center for Moral and Spiritual Education, Narasipura, Bangalore North. Meditation and Dhamma teacher
10 Ven. Bhikkhu Visuddhananda

Director of Mahabodhi Chichingchera, Tripura Branch. Rural community development expert
11 Ven. Bhikkhu Buddhapala

Principal, Mahabodhi Monastic Institute and Assistant Editor of DHAMMA Buddhist monthly magazine.
12 Ven. Bhikkhu Sugatananda

Director of Mahabodhi Center for Theravada Buddhist Studies. Teacher of Suttas and Abhidhamma.
13 Ven. Bhikkhu Sanghadatta

Superintendent of Mahabodhi Nalanda Monks Center, Bangalore. Teacher of Pali and Suttas
14 Ven. Bhikkhu Nyanarakkhita

Director of Mahabodhi Sukanachari, Tripura Center. Principal of Mahabodhi School.
15 Ven. Bhikkhu Dhammadatta

In charge of Sangharama
16 Ven. Bhikkhu Khemananda

Assistant monk in charge Checheng chera, Tripura center
17 Ven. Bhikkhu Silacara

In charge of Mahabodhi Tawang center
Founder President
18 Ven. Bhikkhu Nyanapala

In charge of Mahabodhi Hostels, Diyun, AP
19 Ven. Bhikkhu Sanghavamsa

Assistance monk in Diyun, AP
20 Ven. Bhikkhu Assaji

Incharge of Mahabodhi Deomali center, AP